NSVMGA Scholarships

Northern Shenandoah Valley Master Gardeners Association
2018 Memorial High School Scholarship

The Northern Shenandoah Valley Master Gardeners Association (NSVMGA), will award five $500 scholarships to five promising graduating seniors.  Eligible students must have attended a high school or home school program in Clarke, Warren, Shenandoah, Frederick, or Page counties.  One $500 scholarship will be awarded in each of the five counties.

The NSVMGA Scholarship Review Committee will base the award on scholastic merit as well as participation in an agricultural, horticultural or science based community service organization.  Students will be asked to submit an application and all required documents.

The goal of the scholarship is to encourage Shenandoah Valley students to continue in a horticulture-related field while in college and continue to volunteer and support their community through their volunteer hours.

Application packets will be sent to all local high schools and the packets will also be available on-line and can be downloaded by students.

Criteria for the scholarship include an overall GPA of 3.0, a 3.5 GPA in related science classes, and a certified copy of the student’s high school transcript.Membership and volunteer hours devoted to a school/church/community based organization such as FFA, 4-H, Humane Society, etc. will be considered.

A letter of recommendation is required from a faculty member and a leader from the applicant’s volunteer organization.

A letter from the student addressed to the Scholarship Committee Chairperson must include why the student is deserving of the scholarship and what goals the student is setting for his/her future. Detailed instructions are included on the Application form.

If you need more information, please contact the Scholarship Committee Chairperson, Lynn Hoffmann, at gwendydog@gmail.com

The application due date is March 31 and must be sent to:

Lynn Hoffmann
NSVMGA Scholarship Chairperson
PO Box 411
Capon Springs, WV 26823

The High School principal and the student awarded the scholarship will be notified no later than May 20.